Rail

Automotive

Aviation

Communications & Infrastructure

General Industry

Shipbuilding

Technology in Motion

With extensive know-how and a wide range of future-oriented technologies, Photon develops, optimises and manufactures sheet metal components and assemblies of almost any size and complexity with a strong focus on mobility.

At its Meißen location, Photon also designs, develops and manufactures its own innovative products and solutions for rail and automotive infrastructure as well as telecommunications.

With 300 employees at two locations and four production sites, Photon is optimally positioned for the most varied and demanding tasks. Whether prototypes, small series or medium batch sizes: quality, efficiency and on-time delivery are always top priorities at Photon.

The new DB lightweight-steel champion – laser welded by Photon

For the 1,465 carriages of the new Deutsche Bahn flagship train (Siemens Bombardier),
Photon manufactures sidewall and roof segments as well as roof bows and
crossbeams for the underframe.

  • Laser welding XXL
  • Lightweight steel construction: stability & efficiency
  • Development of the manufacturing concept and component-design support
  • Highest precision, from the production of individual parts to the automated welding process

Read more

  • The new DB lightweight-steel champion – laser welded by Photon

    The new flagship of the DB fleet will be in use for decades – reaching top speeds of up to 250 km / h.

    For the outer shell, this means meeting the highest standards in terms of stability and workmanship. But it also needs to be lightweight. Because every superfluous gram of weight travels over millions of kilometres, worsens the energy balance and thus causes higher costs in the long run. Quite a challenge for the Siemens/Bombardier carriage builders.

    The Photon solution: steel and laser. Laser-welded carriage components made of sheet steel offer maximum stability even with low material thicknesses – without space-wasting internal reinforcements, which are necessary when using aluminium, for example.

    Photon’s XXL laser welding portals allow even the thinnest steel sheets to be welded with the highest quality, precision and strength – efficiently, quickly and with no visible welds on the outer skin. This saves time, money and materials in the production process, creates space in the interior of the train and reduces the environmental impact of the ICE 4.

    A solution that has convinced Siemens/Bombardier. Over the next few years, Photon will produce sidewalls, roof assemblies and underframe components for approximately 1,600 ICE 4 carriages. And in many other trains, too, there is more than just one piece of Photon. For the competition, this means:

    “Stand back please!”

Photon goes West – with the Rocky Mountaineer

For Stadler Pankow GmbH, Photon manufactures the sidewalls, end segments and roofs of the carriages of the luxury double-decker panoramic train. The result: unbeatable stability and aesthetics.

  • Laser welding XXL (up to 25 m)
  • Support with component construction
  • Semi-automated production process for small series
  • Very heavy steel construction with extreme material combinations

Read more

  • Photon goes West – with the Rocky Mountaineer

    Since 1990, the Rocky Mountaineer has crossed the vast, majestic landscapes of western Canada and the United States. What makes these trains so special are the big, domed windows, which offer breath-taking, panoramic views of the magnificent landscapes.

    The production of the carriages is anything but easy: greatest possible stability and safety are as important as a unique aesthetic befitting the exclusive clientele.

    Particular challenges are the sheer size of the carriage bodies (about 25 m long) and the heavy steel construction with extreme material combinations (thin sheet metal with high profile thickness). Clearly a job for the XXL laser-welding pioneers from Photon.

    From the beginning, Photon specialists were involved in the design of the components. The required technology and the semi-automated production process for the small series were also designed and implemented by Photon.

    When producing the sidewalls, end walls and roofs for the carriage bodies produced by Stadler GmbH Pankow, Photon pushes at the limits of laser welding technology – in terms of component geometry as well as tolerances and material combinations.
    Where others have failed, the Photon engineers and welders achieve excellent results due to their experience and absolute passion for the potential of laser.

    Which goes to prove that with Photon, going West is anything but arduous.

Bentley Bentayga: In-depth process expertise from Photon

For the pre-series production of the “most luxurious SUV in the world” (Focus magazine), Photon was responsible for the roof-seam welding of the car body.

  • Laser-beam welding (aluminium), engineering, process consulting
  • Extremely minimal warping, flawless welding of the highest quality
  • Construction of a tensioning device
  • Absolute confidentiality

Read more

  • Bentley Bentayga: In-depth process expertise from Photon

    The eyes of the world were on the exclusive car brand Bentley when it announced the production of its first SUV. All the more important that everything went smoothly in the test phase. The welding of the body seams for the pre-production models was a particularly sensitive issue. Warping through heat can lead to rippling (bumps on the roof). Other process errors (pores, holes, splashes) can also be very difficult to rework in the outer skin area of ​​the aluminium body – which can lead to the roof needing to be renovated or even to the loss of the entire body.

    That’s why the manufacturer left nothing to chance and entrusted Photon’s highly skilled laser-welding experts with the difficult task. A major vote of confidence, which incited Photon to peak performance.

    By means of a tensioning device designed by Photon, the roof segments and sub-segments of the aluminium bodies, delivered under the highest secrecy, were positioned with micrometre precision. In the Photon laser-beam welding portals, the roof seams of all bodies could then be joined, as planned, with minimal warping.

    In the subsequent test phase, the pre-production models were a great success, series production started, and in 2016, the first vehicles were delivered and celebrated by car enthusiasts worldwide.

Rolls-Royce BR725: Photon’s contribution to jet engine optimisation

For Rolls-Royce Germany, Photon took to the skies – controlling the entire sheet metal process chain.

  • Engineering, 2D laser-beam welding, forming, 3D laser-beam cutting; 3D laser-beam welding
  • Extreme demands on quality, safety and resilience
  • Weight reduction by more than 30% with the same stability

Read more

  • Rolls-Royce BR725: Photon’s contribution to jet engine optimisation

    How do you make a good engine even better? This was the question faced by the engineers of Rolls-Royce Germany in the development phase of the turbofan engine BR725, which is a further development of the BR710.

    A possible area of optimisation was the exhaust cone, usually made of nickel-based steel. The alternative: titanium – an expensive but very popular material in aviation due to the fact that it is strong, corrosion-resistant and lightweight.

    For the manufacturing, RR turned to Photon – and received an attractive overall package: from comprehensive planning and design to cutting, rolling and bending of individual parts, coordination of the necessary forming processes, right through to 3D laser-beam welding in Photon’s state-of-the-art laser welding portals.

    The Photon specialists did a great job: they were able to reduce the weight by over 30%, while meeting the highest standards in terms of quality, safety and resilience.

    In the end, titanium wasn’t used in the exhaust cone, but in the fan. And the BR725, which among other things powers the Gulfstream G650, the world’s fastest and longest-range business jet, is actually quieter, more economical and cleaner than its predecessors.

    Titanium and laser – an unbeatable combination from Photon.

Career

Become part of the Photon family!

Are you looking for a training opportunity or job that challenges and inspires you? Do you prefer interesting tasks to monotony and are you looking to improve your long-term perspectives? Could you work well independently as part of an experienced and harmonious team?

If your answer to these questions is yes, then we should get to know each other.

Rail

Automotive

Aviation

Communications & Infrastructure

General Industry

Shipbuilding

Technology in Motion

Mit umfassendem Know-how und einem breiten Spektrum bewährter wie zukunftsweisender Technologien entwickelt, optimiert und produziert Photon Blech-Bauteile und -Baugruppen nahezu jeder Größe und Komplexität mit dem Schwerpunkt Mobilität.

Darüber hinaus konzipiert, entwickelt und fertigt Photon am Standort Meißen eigene innovative Produkte und Lösungen für Bahn- und Automobil-Infrastruktur sowie Telekommunikation.

300 Mitarbeiter an zwei Standorten und vier Produktionsstätten: Photon ist für vielfältigste und anspruchsvollste Aufgaben bestens aufgestellt. Ob Prototyp, Kleinserie oder mittlere Losgrößen: Qualität, Liefertreue und Effizienz stehen bei Photon immer im Fokus.

Leichter, luftiger, Laser – Der neue ICE 4

Für die 1.465 Waggons des neuen DB-Flaggschiffs (Siemens-Bombardier)
fertigt Photon Seitenwand- und Dachsegmente sowie Spriegel und
Querträger für Dach und Untergestell.

  • Laserschweißen XXL
  • Stahlleichtbau: Stabilität & Effizienz
  • Entwicklung des Fertigungskonzepts und Unterstützung bei der Bauteilkonstruktion
  • Höchste Präzision von der Einzelteilfertigung bis zum automatisierten Schweißprozess

Mehr erfahren

  • Leichter, luftiger, Laser: Photon und der neue ICE 4

    Das neue Flaggschiff der DB-Flotte wird über Jahrzehnte hinweg im Einsatz sein – mit Höchstgeschwindigkeiten von bis zu 250 km/h.

    Für die Außenhülle bedeutet das höchste Anforderungen an Stabilität und Verarbeitung. Aber auch Leichtigkeit ist gefragt. Denn jedes überflüssige Gramm Gewicht fährt über Millionen Kilometer mit, verschlechtert die Energiebilanz und verursacht so langfristig höhere Kosten. Eine kniffelige Aufgabe für die Waggonbauer von Siemens/Bombardier.

    Die Photon-Lösung: Stahl und Laser. Lasergeschweißte Waggon-Komponenten aus Stahlblech bieten auch bei geringen Materialdicken höchste Stabilität – ohne raumgreifende Innenverstärkungen, wie sie z. B. bei Verwendung von Aluminium nötig wären.

    In den XXL-Laserschweiß-Portalen von Photon können auch dünnste Stahlbleche mit höchster Qualität, Präzision und Festigkeit verschweißt werden – effizient, schnell und ohne sichtbare Schweißnähte an der Außenhaut. Das spart im Produktionsprozess Zeit, Kosten und Material, schafft Platz im Innenraum des Zuges und reduziert den ökologischen Fingerabdruck des ICE 4.

    Eine Lösung, die Siemens/Bombardier überzeugt hat. In den nächsten Jahren wird Photon Seitenwände, Dachbaugruppen und Untergestell-Komponenten für ca. 1.600 Waggons des ICE 4 fertigen. Und auch in vielen anderen Zügen steckt weit mehr als nur ein Stück Photon. Da heißt es für die Konkurrenz:

    „Zurückbleiben bitte!“

Photon goes West – mit dem Rocky Mountaineer

Für die Stadler Pankow GmbH fertigt Photon komplette Seitenwände,
Endportale und Dächer der Wagen eines Luxus-Doppelstock-Panoramazuges.
Entscheidend: Die Kombination größtmöglicher Stabilität und Ästhetik.

  • Laserschweißen XXL (bis 25 m)
  • Unterstützung Bauteilkonstruktion
  • Halbautomatisierter Fertigungsprozess für Kleinserie
  • Besonders schwere Stahlbauausführung mit extremen Materialkombinationen

Mehr erfahren

  • Photon goes West – mit dem Rocky Mountaineer

    Seit 1990 durchquert der Rocky Mountaineer die noch immer unendlichen Weiten im Westen Kanadas und der USA. Das Besondere: die Panoramafenster, die einen atemberaubenden Rundumblick auf die grandiosen Landschaften gestatten.

    Dabei ist die Fertigung der Waggons alles andere als einfach: Größtmögliche Stabilität und Sicherheit sind ebenso wichtig wie eine einzigartige, dem exklusiven Kundenkreis angemessene Ästhetik.

    Besondere Herausforderungen: die schiere Größe der Wagenkästen (ca. 25 m lang) und die schwere Stahlbauausführung mit extremen Materialkombinationen (dünnes Blech bei hohen Profildicken). Ein klarer Fall für die XXL-Laserschweiß-Pioniere von Photon.

    Von Anfang an waren Photon-Spezialisten an der Konstruktion der Bauteile beteiligt. Auch die erforderliche Vorrichtungstechnik sowie der halbautomatisierte Fertigungsprozess für die Kleinserie wurden von Photon konzipiert und umgesetzt.

    Bei der Fertigung der Seitenwände, Endportale und Dächer für die von der Stadler GmbH Pankow produzierten Wagenkästen geht Photon bis an die Grenzen der Laserschweißtechnologie – sowohl bei der Bauteilgeometrie, als auch im Hinblick auf Toleranzen und Materialkombinationen.

    Wo andere gescheitert wären, erzielen die Photon Ingenieure und Schweißer aufgrund ihrer Erfahrung und ungebremsten Leidenschaft für die Potentiale des Lasers hervorragende Ergebnisse.

    Womit bewiesen wäre: Mit Photon ist der Weg nach Westen alles andere als beschwerlich.

Bentley Bentayga: Fundiertes Prozess-Know-how von Photon

Bei der Vorserienfertigung des „luxuriösesten SUV der Welt“ (Focus) übernahm Photon die Dachnahtverschweißung der Karosserien.

  • Laserstrahlschweißen (Aluminium), Engineering, Prozessberatung
  • Extrem verzugsarmes, fehlerfreies Schweißen in höchster Qualität
  • Konstruktion einer Spannvorrichtung
  • Höchste Geheimhaltung

Mehr erfahren

  • Bentley Bentayga: Fundiertes Prozess-Know-how von Photon

    Das erste SUV der Edel-Marke Bentley: Da schaut die ganze Welt hin. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass in der der Testphase alles glatt geht. Die Verschweißung der Karosserie-Dachnähte für die Vorserienmodelle ist dabei ein besonders heikler Punkt. Verzug in Form von Wärme kann zu Welligkeiten (Beulen auf dem Dach) führen. Auch andere Prozessfehler (Poren, Löcher, Spritzer) lassen sich im Außenhaut-Bereich der Aluminium-Karosserie nur sehr eingeschränkt nachbearbeiten – was zum Wiederausbau der Dächer oder sogar zum Verlust der Karosserie führen kann.

    Deshalb überließ der Hersteller nichts dem Zufall und betraute die besonders prozesserfahrenen Laserschweiß-Experten von Photon mit der schwierigen Aufgabe. Ein großer Vertrauensbeweis, der Photon zu Höchstleistungen anspornte.

    Mittels einer von Photon konstruierten Spannvorrichtung wurden die unter höchster Geheimhaltung angelieferten Dach- und Untersegmente der Aluminium-Karosserien mikrometergenau positioniert. In den Photon Laserstrahlschweißportalen konnten die Dachnähte aller Karosserien dann wie geplant extrem verzugsarm gefügt werden.

    In der darauffolgenden Erprobungsphase bewährten sich die Vorserienmodelle glänzend, die Serienfertigung lief an, und 2016 konnten die ersten Fahrzeuge ausgeliefert werden, die von Auto-Enthusiasten weltweit gefeiert wurden.

Rolls-Royce BR725: Photons Beitrag zur Triebwerkoptimierung

Für Rolls-Royce Deutschland ging Photon in die Luft – und steuerte dabei die gesamte Prozesskette Blech.

  • Engineering, 2D-Laserstrahlschweißen, Umformen, 3D-Laserstrahlschneiden; 3D-Laserstrahlschweißen
  • Extreme Anforderungen an Qualität, Sicherheit und Belastbarkeit
  • Gewichtsreduzierung um über 30 % bei gleicher Stabilität

Mehr erfahren

  • Rolls-Royce BR725: Photons Beitrag zur Triebwerkoptimierung

    Wie macht man ein gutes Triebwerk noch besser? Vor dieser Frage standen die Ingenieure von Rolls-Royce Deutschland in der Entwicklungsphase des aus dem BR710 abgeleiteten Turbofantriebwerks BR725.

    Eine mögliche Optimierung betraf den üblicherweise aus Nickel-Basis-Stahl gefertigten Exhaust Cone. Die Alternative: Titan – ein kostspieliger, aber aufgrund seiner Festigkeit, Korrosionsbeständigkeit und Leichtigkeit in der Luftfahrt sehr beliebter Werkstoff.

    Für die Fertigung wandte sich RR an Photon – und erhielt ein attraktives Gesamtpaket: von der ganzheitlichen Planung und Konstruktion über das Schneiden, Walzen und Abkanten der Einzelteile, die Koordination der nötigen Umformprozesse bis hin zum 3D-Laserstrahlschweißen in den hoch modernen Photon Laserschweiß-Portalen.

    Die Photon Spezialisten leisteten ganze Arbeit: Das Gewicht konnte um über 30 % reduziert werden, bei gleichzeitiger Erfüllung höchster Anforderungen an Qualität, Sicherheit und Belastbarkeit.

    Am Ende kam Titan zwar nicht beim Exhaust Cone, dafür aber beim Fan zum Einsatz. Und das BR725, das unter anderem die Gulfstream G650, das schnellste und reichweitenstärkste Geschäftsreiseflugzeug der Welt antreibt, ist tatsächlich leiser, sparsamer und sauberer als seine Vorgänger.

    Titan und Laser – eine unschlagbare Kombination aus dem Hause Photon.

Karriere

Werden Sie Teil der Photon-Familie!

Sie suchen nach einem Ausbildungs- oder Arbeitsplatz, der Sie fordert und fördert? Der Ihnen statt Langeweile täglich neue, spannende Aufgaben und langfristige Perspektiven bietet? In dem Sie eigenverantwortlich in einem eingespielten und harmonischen Team arbeiten?

Wenn Ihre Antwort auf diese Fragen „Ja“ lautet, dann sollten wir uns kennenlernen.